SHANTI, IBRAHIM (1910-1927)

Born in Jaffa in 1910; was educated at the Jaffa Government School and An-Najah National School; studied Political Science at the AUB, graduating in 1932; returned to Jaffa and joined Al-Jamiah Al-Islamiyyeh newspaper, founded by Suleiman Taji Faruqi; founded Ad-Difa’ (The Defense) newspaper in 1934, which became a central platform for free speech and was closed by the British several times; was arrested by the British in 1936 for his role in establishing the Palestinian National Guard during the Arab Revolt; was exiled to Cairo by the newly established Israeli state in 1948, while his paper in Jaffa was closed down; in 1949, founded Cairo newspaper in Egypt with Assad Daqher; helped founding other papers in Cairo and Jordan while in exile; returned to Palestine in 1950; worked briefly as the Chairman of the Arab Bank, a post afforded to him by his friend Abdul Hamid Shuman, but then left to resume publication of Ad-Difa’ from Jerusalem; after 1967, relocated his paper to Amman; was elected the first Pres. of the Jordanian Journalists’ Association; was known for his journalistic editorials which reflected the major concerns of the Palestinian struggle for independence; wrote an article offending the Jordanian govt., which led to the permanent closure of Ad-Difa’s offices in Amman by an order of then-PM Wasfi At-Tal; died in 1979.


شنطي، إبراهيم (1910-1979) ولد في يافا في 1910، تعلم في مدرسة يافا الحكومية ومدرسة النجاح الوطنية؛ درس العلوم السياسية في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت، تخرج في عام 1932؛ عاد إلى يافا وانضم لجريدة الجامعة الإسلامية، التي أسست من قبل سليمان التاجي الفاروقي؛ أسس جريدة الدفاع في عام 1934، التي أصبحت مركزاً للصوت الحر، والتي أغلقت من قبل البريطانيين عدة مرات؛ اعتقل من قبل البريطانيين في عام 1936، لدوره خلال الثورة؛ نفي إلى القاهرة من قبل الحكومة الإسرائيلية في 1948، خلال اغلاق صحيفته في يافا؛ في عام 1949، أسس جريدة القاهرة في مصر مع أسعد داغر؛ عمل كموظف في البنك العربي، ولكنه تركها ليعيد إصدار وتحرير جريدة الدفاع من القدس؛ نقل صحيفته إلى عمان بعد حرب حزيران 1967؛ انتخب كرئيس الصحفيين؛ توفي عام 1979.