## PASSIA: Jerusalem Chronology

## British Mandate; 1917-1948

- **1917**, **Dec. 9**: Ottoman forces surrender in Jerusalem: allied forces led by General Allenby conquer Palestine; Jerusalem under British military administration.
- **1918**, **Jan. 27-Feb. 10**: First Palestinian National Congress meets in Jerusalem, sends two memoranda to Versailles Peace Conference rejecting Balfour Declaration, demanding independence.
- **1920, April:** British remove Musa Kazim al-Husseini, mayor of Jerusalem, from office for opposing their pro-Zionist policies. San Remo Peace Conference assigns the Mandate for Palestine to Great Britain. **1921,May-June:** 4th Palestinian National Congress held in Jerusalem, decides to send delegation to London to explain Palestinian case against Balfour Declaration.
- **1922:** Britain obtains League of Nations mandate to rule Palestine; Jerusalem becomes capital under British civil administration.
- 1922-1939: Period of Palestinian revolts against British occupation and massive Jewish immigration.
- **1925, March:** Palestinian general strike to protest against private visit by Lord Balfour to Jerusalem.
- **1928.June:** 7th Palestinian National Congress convened in Jerusalem.
- **1928, Nov.:** Islamic Conference meets in Jerusalem,urges protection of Muslim property rights at Wailing Wall, itself a Muslim holy site.
- 1929, Aug. 28-29: Palestinians up-rising in reaction to militant demonstrations at Wailing Wall.
- 1931, Dec. 16: Pan-Islamic Congress held in Jerusalem, 145 delegates from Muslim World attend.
- 1933, Oct.: Demonstrations in Jaffa and Jerusalem protesting against British pro-Zionist policies.
- **1936**, **May 8**: Conference of all National Committees in Jerusalem calls for 'no taxation without representation'. General strike begins.
- 1946, July 22: Irgun and Stern Gang Zionist groups blow up King David Hotel, Jerusalem.
- **1947**, **Nov. 29**: UN Partition Resolution 181 recommends that Jaffa be part of the proposed Palestinian state and that Jerusalem and Bethlehem be a corpus separatum under a special international regime administered by UN Trusteeship Council.